Jared’s strategic Iron Horse

By Danny Cavanaugh

Don’t ever skip out on a public figure coming to your organization to present information or give a speech on their expertise. It is important to pick their brain and gain knowledge for you own benefit. One of the best ways we can learn is through other experiences people have created.

Jared Vallejo from Iron Horse Brewery came into one of my classes at Central Washington University to give a speech on the brewery and the experiences he has had there. He talked about marketing strategies, the culture of the brewery, and some of the challenges they face on a day-to-day basis.

However, what really stuck with me? What was the one thing that I related to and appreciated the most?

Don’t be afraid to fail! It sounds simple right? However, from my experiences inside and outside of school, successful people have always been bold, and they haven’t been afraid.

The best advice he gave us was to fail, fail some more and fail again. Why? It means you are trying! The worst thing you can do (from a business standpoint) is to become stagnant and boring. What I like about Jared and the IHB is their ability to adapt and create new marketing techniques to entice consumers into buying their products.

As a consumer, I’m always looking for something that interests me, excites me, and ultimately connects me to that product. What Jared and the rest of the brewery staff have accomplished is a culture that relates to their customers and the products they produce.beer-bottle

With that said, I work for a small business that is continuously trying to grow and expand. The words that Jared said to us will always stick with me, and entice me to adapt, create, and take chances on marketing campaigns throughout my own experiences.

Overall, failure is important, whether it’s in a business setting, or other aspects of our lives. Without failure, we won’t have success. After all, success develops through our experiences and chances we take in life.

Leave a Reply

