A Baseball Player’s PR Journey

By Danny Cavanaugh

As all athletes know, injuries destroy careers. A torn labrum in my throwing shoulder cut my college baseball career short in the spring of 2014. I persevered through my injury and finished out the season, but I knew I had to hang up the cleats.

baseball-stuff

Picture above is from my college days playing at SCC. Go Dolphins!

Fast forward to fall of 2014 and I’m sitting at home wondering what I’m doing with my life. My college baseball career is over, but I know I still want a college degree.

I’ve never been savvy with my math skills, and I’ve never been enthusiastic about science, so those fields were out of the picture.

What am I good at? Well, I can write respectably, and I work well with others. Instantly a light bulb comes on! I remembered looking through Central Washington Universities catalog page and coming across PR.

Thus, My life was set, I am currently attending CWU, and officially started in the winter of 2015, where I started my major in PR. I brought my personable skills with my competence in writing to earn a degree and start my career in PR.

So, why PR?

PR is a great setting for any person with aspirations in writing, group work, and working with clients. It provides us with a sense of pride and self worth when we’re able to help a client achieve their organizational goals.

Thus, I finally found my niche with discovering PR. My idols growing up always mentioned how if you do what you love to do, you’ll never work a day in your life.

My baseball career may have ended, however I could still pursue my dream to work in sports with working in sports PR.

My journey into PR has just begun, and if you’re looking for an exciting, hands on career. PR may be the field for you.

 

Leave a Reply

